LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Transmission pan gasket replacement help

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-17, 06:56 PM
lexslexus
Driver

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Transmission pan gasket replacement help

Hello everyone. Finally getting around to replacing my transmission pan gasket to stop a slow leak.

Thought it would take a few hours at most but the bolts are so stubborn that several hours (and several breaks) later I'm still trying to get the remaining 4 or 5 bolts (the few that are hard to reach) out of the transmission pan. It seems like they're not budging at all but I know I'm making at least a tiny bit of progress because a few drops of fluid came out.

Any tips on getting the last few bolts out? This is my first car repair. I tried spraying some WD-40 onto the bolts but that did not help much.
Old 03-03-17, 09:33 PM
ankurdave
Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm also a beginner at car repair, but so far I've had good results on difficult bolts, especially in the suspension, using these tips:
1. If you have the clearance, use a breaker bar. If you're already using one, try a longer one.
2. Try using real penetrating oil. I've had good results with Liquid Wrench, and apparently a 50/50 mix of acetone and ATF is even more effective.
3. Try alternating between tightening and loosening. This rocking action seems to break the bolt's internal friction.
4. Take breaks to let the penetrating oil soak in and regain your spirits. Have faith that you'll eventually succeed.
Old 03-03-17, 11:04 PM
Banshee365
Instructor

Received 95 Likes on 78 Posts

Those are M6 bolts. They can't be that tight... Which bolts are you having trouble accessing?
Old 03-04-17, 01:34 AM
Losiracer2
Racer

Received 208 Likes on 170 Posts

I was able to get all 19 of mine out with a 19v cordless drill, took me about 5-10 minutes. Are they seized with corrosion or something?
Old 03-04-17, 11:18 AM
dicer
Lead Lap