LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Help with these symptoms- code 25, 26 low idle

Old 09-29-14, 01:22 PM
jimenez1st
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with these symptoms- code 25, 26 low idle

Hello to everyone. I am new to the forum and I'd really appreciate Ii if someone has experienced the following symptoms and could help me diagnose this problem I am having.

I acquired my 1990 ls400 5 years ago. 74000 miles on the odo and running like a champ except for a check engine light with codes 25 and 26. It ran quite well for a while but eventually it started developing low idle. I figured the check engine had caught up to me, but being a broke college student I didn't do anything about it. Time passed and during winter two years ago I started having this infamous problem of the engine dying up on me without gas. I did some research and decided to try cleaning up the IAC valve; that did the trick for a while but some more problems were to follow. Recently I decided to purchase a k&n air filter; little did I know that those filters tend to trigger the air filter light and in some cases contaminate the air flow sensor. To get rid of that problem I tried using some air flow sensor cleaner without luck. Just recently the real problem began. I started to get really low idle when the engine warms up (around 200 to 250 rpm) and jerking sometimes when doing highway speeds. I figured I'd have the transmission checked as It might be the problem. I had it flushed and the filter replaced. The problem persisted so while doing some research I found out It could be a dirty throttle body of loose vaccum hose somewhere. I took out the throttle body and cleaned it really good and checked for loose veccum hoses. That procedure greatly improved my idle while parking with the engine cold; however, it did not fix the low idle after warmup or the jerking wile driving. After that I decided to clean the eg