LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New member/owner of a 96 with 86k miles

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-14, 10:20 PM
lexmoose
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New member/owner of a 96 with 86k miles

Noob here!

Found it last weekend and after a test drive I had to buy it.

Inspection revealed no major issue except for maybe a minor leak for one of the valve cover.

Here's a crappy pics from my cell

Front have been lightly accidented and badly repaired so that will have to be adress eventually and also lots of paint chip here and there. But overall it's clean.

Did the muffler delete mod today, the guy at the shop didn't understand why I wanted to remove the 2 mufflers and told me I would get pull over by cops. After his warning, he did the job anyway and you should have seen the guys face and mine when it started. Personally it's just perfect.

Goal with this car is to be a fun ride and my competition Sound Quality IASCA vehicle.

Things to do quickly:

Muffler delete (done)
Change the oil (engine only, others look and smell good)
Clean the radiator fins (it's fill with dust/crap)
Call dealer where car was originally sold to get history and try to find out about the timing belt
Get a real license plate on it

Ill be looking thru the FAQ and see what else I should pay attention to.

Last edited by lexmoose; 07-03-14 at 10:31 PM.
Old 07-03-14, 10:44 PM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus and congrats on the LS400.

What do you have in mind for a media/audio system?
Old 07-04-14, 05:29 AM
UNCNOR
Pole Position

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Never heard of the muffler mod.Please explain why It was done.Thanks.
Old 07-04-14, 06:59 AM
Legender
Racer

Received 85 Likes on 76 Posts

Congrats on the find and welcome to the club. Sounds like you've already done some research and have a plan. Have fun.
Old 07-04-14, 07:25 AM
lexmoose
Pole Position