LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Which of these fees are legitimate!?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-11, 04:42 PM
ilikebeans
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Which of these fees are legitimate!?

Im new to buying cars (im 19 yrs old :P) and i just wanted to ask some of you for your words of wisdom. Im on the verge of buying myself a BEAUTIFUL LS400 so i just wanted to ask which of these fees are legit : "Sales Tax, Title, License Fee, Registration Fee, Dealer Documentary Fee, Finance Charges, Emission Testing Fees and Compliance Fees".

I know the first three are TT&L which are normal for any car purchase right? And some of the other fees seem like unnesessary charges just to steal the most money from me... dealer documentary fee? the hells that...? finance charges? Cant i go somewhere to get the emission testing done myself instead of paying them directly? compliance fees?
Any help is greatly appreciated!!! Thanks!
Old 10-31-11, 05:01 PM
timmy0tool

Received 415 Likes on 370 Posts

places like this (usually dealership) do have these things, but you really have no choice if you go through them. yes you can have the car smog checked yourself, but doing so will slow down your registration paperwork (in CA you need to smog a car when transferring titles). the question is will they even allow you to do that? all the other "fees" are there since they have overhead stuff that may be out of your control.

these cars are old enough where in reality all you need to pay for is the transfer fee, tax, and the price of the car, unless you are financing it. then smog the car and she is golden! the rest is just a price you pay for going through them.
Old 10-31-11, 05:22 PM
jb2wheels
Driver School Candidate

Get them to itemize it because a few of those sound the same.

TX is pretty easy - you can probably go to TXDOT and get the exact cost: