LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Some observations about my "new" 90 LS...

Old 02-12-11, 10:37 PM
jdog0411
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Some observations about my "new" 90 LS...

Finally picked up my 90 LS this weekend. It's in good shape for the year, and only has 84,000 miles on it. It's bone stock right now, and is a one owner car with full service history. No skeletons in the closet.

After driving it for a few days, I've made some observations on some things that need attention, and am looking for some guidance from the forum as to what should be done. I am totally new to Lexus's although I have been studying up on the forum for about a month now so I'm coming along in getting familiar with the car.

First of all, the engine and transmission run perfectly with no issues. Timing belt and water pump have been replaced at 58,000 miles as part of the 60K service, but that was back in 1999. This car hasn't been driven all that much, only averaging about 4K miles a year over it's lifetime.

Potential issues:

1. I've noticed that the steering feels very "light". Going around turns (either slowly or quickly) it takes almost no force to turn the wheel and it's basically "too easy" if that makes any sense. It turns fine, I don't hear any noises, everything seems to be functioning as it should but it is just a very light steering feel that makes me feels a little skiddish to me. It also has a very slight play in which I can move the wheel a little bit in each direction without much change in direction of the car. Is this normal for a 90 LS? I may just be used to the steering feel in my BMW 325, but if it isn't the norm I need to find out how to fix it. Does it need a new steering rack? If the power steering pump was failing (common problem I'm learning) wouldn't the steering be stiffer, and not light? Just trying to get opinions on this.