LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New, looking at '91 LS400

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-08, 06:27 PM
ajm
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New, looking at '91 LS400

I am pretty new to lexus, but am now looking to get one, probably an ls400. From what I have heard and read, they seem like good, reliable luxury cars.

I went to look at a '91 ls400 today:
--silver/black leather in good condition
--147k mi.
--Timing belt was changed recently
--Aftermarket wheels - not too crazy about them, but the tires are good

Issues:
---tachometer seems to be wrong - it sits around zero at idle, and under acceleration barely hits 2k. I know there are some issues with the instrument cluster, so is this a sign of trouble, or not a big deal?

---valvetrain/lifter noise - basically same question as above- anything to worry about?

---It only has one key - does anyone happen to know off hand how much a key would cost?

Anyway, I really liked the car - it was really comfortable and seemed to run well for its age and mileage. The interior, and even the engine were almost spotless.

They are asking $3500 for it. is this a decent price, and is there anythign that i should look for?

Thank you in advance for you help.
Old 08-12-08, 07:04 PM
Iansaltes
Lead Lap

3500 seems A LITTLE high to me... you should try for 2800-3000.

About the issues: I had the same tach issue, along with my fuel and gauges not working. Totally fixed with a lifetime warranty by BBA-Manufacturing for 175$. not bad at all.. my cluster is as good as new...

I too have the "ticking/clicking".. in my case, its the injectors. They tend to be a bit noisy.

As far as the key.. I would guess a few hundred or so..When i duplicated my GS400 key is was about 200. Maybe LSs are the same?