LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Lower ball joint change for 1999

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-08, 11:14 AM
Hils400
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lower ball joint change for 1999

I am new to posting and I am not a mechanic, but I changed my lower ball joints on my LS400 and thought I would give my thoughts and a few pics. If anyone has a problem with how I did something or advice I do not mind comments at all. I only did this because I do not see many DIY stuff for 1998-2000 models. I tried to keep it very basic as I know I would appreciate that because I need it that way. Anyway, here goes...

Jack car and support with jack stands. If you do not have an impact gun, loosen lug nuts before jacking the car up. Remove the wheel. Should look like this.

If you car still has the screws in the rotor remove them if you want to take off the rotor. I removed it because I thought it was easier and I did not want to damage it. The screws are a pain the a#% as they are easy to strip. An impact screwdriver makes it much easier. You then have to remove the caliper. There are 2 17mm bolts on the back. This is a shot from the car looking out.

Once you remove the bolts you will need to hold the caliper up so you do damage the brake lines or wires for sensors.

I just used some old wire and looped it to the spring or uca.
The manual says remove ABS speed sensor and wire connector. I did not I just made sure not to put strain on the wires.
Once the caliper is out of the way you need to remove the joint from the tie rod.

So remove the cotter pin and the 17 mm castle nut. Then attach the tie rod separator so that the screw from the separator is pushing the joint out from the screw side of the joint. So it will push the joint out from top to bottom. You can get the tool for like $10 from Autozone. Good tool to have and comes in handy a lot. This is what it looks like when separated.