Sponsored by:

Best Budget Component Speakers + Amplifier

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-12, 07:17 PM
singleton
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Budget Component Speakers + Amplifier

I own a '98 ES300 and I was wanting to upgrade the sound system. I do not listen to hip-hop, mainly rock - I am mostly interested in a nice clean sound.

I have a tight budget of $300-$400 - I know that is not much but just looking to get the best I can for that budget and I figured upgrading the component speakers and adding an amplifier would be the best money spent - no need for a subwoofer really.

Any suggestions?

How about this: Polk Audio db6501

Not sure about the amp though maybe this: Kenwood KAC-7205 + Amplifier Kit

Please forgive me - I am a newbie when it comes to car audio.

Thanks
Old 03-31-12, 07:40 AM
AudioBob
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would suggest the Polk MM6501 over the DB series. It is an excellent set and can be had for around $200. The Kenwood amp would be decent enough to power either set of Polks
Old 03-31-12, 10:54 AM
singleton
Driver School Candidate

So why not the db series? Would be nice to save the money.

Also do you think I will be alright not replacing the subwoofer given my needs? If I did replace it would only be to replace in the exact location of the factory - no desire to build a box and place in the trunk.
Old 03-31-12, 11:26 AM
AudioBob
Driver

I have heard them both and th MM series is a large step up in every way. I had the MM series in my GS 350 and they were real nice. I upgraded to a set of Focal's which are just slightly better in all aspects than the MM's. Is the sub in the ES an 8"???
Old 03-31-12, 05:35 PM
singleton
Driver School Candidate

Yes the subwoofer is an 8" - do you think I really need to replace the factory one?