Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket Sub & Amp questions...

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-08, 11:36 AM
Rock-a-Lex
Lead Lap

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Aftermarket Sub & Amp questions...

First off, I must say I am a newbie when it comes to electronics and/or audio. I know NOTHING about this stuff at all.

Ok. Now, I have a 2000 GS400 and about 2 years ago I had the stock 10" (?) sub taken out and a custom box (the guy said "free air"...I can see the face of the speakers) made to fit on the small back ledge area in my trunk; a local car audio shop did the install. They used two 12" Rockford Fosgate HX2's and a Kenwood KAC 929 (1000w) amp. The door speakers and deck are OEM Lexus.

This setup sounds pretty good (well, good enough for me) but was thinking of removing the sub and box enclosure to make more trunk room and lose some weight.

I need suggestions on a new 10" subwoofer of nice quality that will fit in the OEM area of the rear deck lid (through my trunk) but will be compatible with my amp. http://www.carsound.com/reviews/amps/KAC-929.html ...specs on this for your reference. I don't feel it is necessary to have a shop "install" this sub because it's not like I need a box or anything. I just want to buy the speaker, bolt it up and put the pos. and neg. wires on. lol. What do you guys suggest? I don't want my amp to be too powerful for the new speaker but I still want it to give off some nice bass (better than stock of course) so I am asking you guys for advice. Thanks again for all the advice in advance.

Last edited by Rock-a-Lex; 09-27-08 at 11:40 AM.
Old 09-27-08, 04:40 PM
Rock-a-Lex
Lead Lap

...hmmm no one has replaced their stock subwoofer???
Old 09-27-08, 05:09 PM
JonSC4
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It's hard for people to give advice because not many companies make IB subs. You'll just have to search around and find some with a dual 4 ohm voice coil and 200ish watts rms power handling.