IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

New to the Forum, want some honest opinions

Old 08-26-14, 08:30 PM
AgentX
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the Forum, want some honest opinions

So I'm new to this CL forum. I am currently in the market for a new car and the 2014 IS350 F Sport is 1 of them on my list. The other is TLX V6 (when SH-AWD arrives).
Has anyone here driven either or all 3? What are your comparisons and opinions?
The TLX forum I've recently joined seems to have a love-hate relationship towards the TLX because of it's bland styling. However, performance-wise it isn't entirely too bad.

What you all think? I hope to purchase 1 of the 2 by October.
Old 08-26-14, 09:03 PM
Dark9t316
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Wife wants the TLX, I'm not too thrilled about it, it is FWD. The value for TLX is great for the price, but I highly doubt TLX will even compare. I haven't test drive it yet myself.
Old 08-26-14, 10:18 PM
metaleckz
Racer

Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts

My brother was in the same boat as you. He chose is350 f sport over tlx.
Some people say not to buy the first model year because there will be bugs and stuff.
Also fwd
Old 08-26-14, 11:35 PM
tea
Lexus Test Driver

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

TLX also has a SH-AWD option if you opt for the V6. the SH AWD might be helpful for OP since he lives in colorado
Old 08-27-14, 01:06 AM
Boomin
Racer

Received 395 Likes on 240 Posts

99 % genuinely helpful and kind here but others just ignore
Old 08-27-14, 03:44 AM
agp
Driver School Candidate

The TLX is a little dull. It's more for comfort than sport. But that's not to say the IS isn't comfortable.
Old 08-27-14, 04:22 AM
FinaLpeace
Driver