IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Hit a pothole on highway, 0 air pressure in about 2 mins. How to check suspension?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-14, 06:09 AM
doctorttt
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Hit a pothole on highway, 0 air pressure in about 2 mins. How to check suspension?

It's my first time experiencing a flat tire after hitting a pothole. I was on the Long Island Expressway in Queens, NY on Saturday evening after watching The Amazing Spiderman 2. It was about 12:15 AM, and there were still a lot of cars on the road. (and they were fast!!!) I wasn't aware and hit a pothole, and I immediately heard a loud "BANG" noise from the left wheel. I switched on the tire pressure indicator on the dashboard right afterward, and the air pressure started decreasing. Luckily, I was able to find an exit early and pulled over on local road to check the car. I swapped out the flat tire with the spare and went home safely with my girlfriend.

* I was surprised that the Bridgestone Turanza was able to hold up with 0 air pressure, without letting the rim rolling and touching on the ground.

* Rim is fine - no bent, no scratch

* Took the wheel to a tire shop and discovered that there must be some sharp edges in the pothole, which teared the side of the tire for about 2 inches (right underneath the tip of the rim). Total replacement with installation - $290. Shop ordered a brand new tire (same model) and I will return on Monday to get the tire fixed.

1) How do I check whether the suspension is okay?

2) The tire pressure indicator on the gauge shows nothing now - all 4 wheels. I'm not sure what's going on. I still have the spare wheel on, so I'm not sure whether this is causing the issue.

3) Where is the tire pressure sensor located? When I return to the tire shop on Monday, will the tire guy know how to swap out the bad tire with the new one without messing up with the tire pressure sensor in there?