2014 Lexus IS350 F-Sport vs. 2013 BMW 335i Xdrive M Sport

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-13, 08:22 PM
Aeromotive
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2014 Lexus IS350 F-Sport vs. 2013 BMW 335i Xdrive M Sport

Hi all.

Intro : I've been a Lexus guy since high school (never owned one, but loved them). I never gave much attention to german cars because to me they were "trouble right when the warranty is over", along with expensive repairs and maintenance.

Fast-forward 12 years : Now that I graduated and my wife graduated last week, we're looking for a car for her. I'm in love with the 2014 IS350 after all I read, but my wife wants the 335 (we're talking AWD and Xdrive here). One would say : is it really a question? If the wife wants the 335, then that's what she'll get! Anyways, I test-drove both, and just for the sake of discussion, I thought I'd share my opinion on the forums.

Disclaimer : I don't pretend to be a professional car reviewer, and those are just the main points that struck me on each car.

IS350 F-Sport AWD
LIKED
  • Exterior design (not everyone likes it, especially the spindle grill, I know...)
  • Interior design (completely redesigned, especially liking the LFA-style gauges)
  • Luxurious, refined interior compared to the BMW
  • The seats in the IS completely wrap you. I felt like I was in a race car cockpit. I loved the higher waistline/beltline because it added to the "wrapping" feeling, but my wife (5'2") didn't.
  • Reliability
  • Customer service (best one years in row, although I'm sure BMW isn't far down on the list)
  • Lower cost maintenance? Is this true?
  • Driving seems to be pretty close to the F30
  • Less expensive for a similarly equipped car
  • Slower depreciation

DISLIKED
  • 6-speed transmission on the AWD
  • Older engine
  • Power is available when RPM hits 4-5000 (which is OK, but definitely worse than the BMW)
  • Worried about it not aging well due to the re-design