IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Paint discoloration - Starfire Pearl

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-14, 02:41 PM
justinco
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Paint discoloration - Starfire Pearl

Curious if anyone has seen this kind of paint discoloration before.

I recently removed some old clear-bra from the front 1/3rd of my hood and front quarter panels. I was planning to get the whole front clip re-wrapped with fresh clear-bra.

However, when I removed the clear-bra I noticed the paint underneath was a much cleaner pure starfire pearl white than the rest of the paint on the hood and 1/4 panels. I planned to buff/polish out the whole car (I am a professional detailer) and didn't think much of the discoloration as I have seen it before on many other cars, which was easily polished out.

I have spent the last 24 hours using various polishing processes, including my most abrasive pads and cutting polishes, and the discolored paint is not clearing up. I even carefully wet sanded the "seam" area where the clear-bra ended with 1000 to 3000 grit sand papers (followed by more polishing). I still have the discoloration in the paint. I am beginning to think the top/clear coat is somewhat defective and has discolored over time. The crappy part is the car is practically brand new, I bought it with 16500 miles on it just a few months ago (it is a 2011 IS-F).

I am taking it to Lexus on Monday to see what they say as it is still under paint warranty. Curious if any other Starfire Pearl white owners have experienced anything similar? Really discouraged and frustrated by this, I paid top dollar for this car and can't believe the paint is doing this

I tried to snap some photos but it is difficult to picture...if you look at the photo at the right angle you can see the discoloration line from where the old clear-bra was.