Strange things after alternator fix

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-14, 06:10 AM
skhuu
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Strange things after alternator fix

Hi all

I am new to the forum, sorry if I posted at the wrong place. I am also new to Lexus from BMW. I am from Johannesburg, South Africa. I recently bought a 2007 Lexus IS250 ES which now has 106km, so it's not under motor plan.

The car showed the battery warning light and after a while it switched itself off. I had it towed to a place called Car Service City, it's a reputable local garage from my experience and has branches all over the country. They told me it was an alternator and they had to take it to be fixed or fixed and also a fuselink. I accepted their quote and it was fixed.

I collected it and drove off, but before I could go anywhere I saw several thing;
1. The AFS ON light was flashing, tried to turn it off with the switch and nothing happens.
2. There was a Check VSG or something warning.
3. The other warning of a car screeching or on a road, also I tried turning it off with the switch and still nothing.
4. The time on the display wasn't showing anything.

I turned back and showed them these problem since the car didn't have any lights or any problems before I went there. They told me that I have to take it to Lexus for them to reset the ECU because their diagnostic system can't access it. It has to be done only at Lexus.

I get home, park and try to lock the car and the central locking is not working. I try several times and nothing. I try to lock and unlock doors from the button and it's not working. Now I am curious I start checking all other things which normally work and most don't.

Apart from above mentioned errors, these are the rest;
1. I can only lock the car with remote within seconds after turning off the ignition or moving from on to off on the button without starting. If I stay about fifteen seconds it won't lock.