IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

How much can I expect to spend on the upcoming maintenance?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-14, 10:45 AM
berticus
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much can I expect to spend on the upcoming maintenance?

Hello, I'm a college student so all I could afford was an 07' is250. (Sorry no 350), but I'm really happy with the car and it's more than enough for me. Anyway... I bought the car at around 78k miles, and it's now at about 82k miles since I bought it (from a dealer) about 6 months ago. Anyway, as I understand I need to have a major serving around 90k miles (which I don't actually expect to hit for a while). How much might that run me (so that I can be prepared)? About how often should I get the car serviced at this point. The dealer I purchased the car from did a basic oil change and everything when I bought it, and it's been about 3k miles. I was planning on taking it in at around 5k, but I didn't know if it mattered that the car hasn't been serviced in about 6 months. Is there a certain time period that comes before the mileage in terms of servicing? Everything runs fine so far, the only issue I've noticed is that when it's very cold (0-15F (I live in New England)) the car makes a funny choking sound when starting. It's starting to warm up (because it's Spring) so that shouldn't be an issue anymore, but I wanted to know if it were anything I needed to worry about. Other than that I love the car and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
Old 03-20-14, 10:52 AM
darkdream
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The chocking could be carbon build up. I am not familiar with it since I have the 350. So the dealer changed the brake fluid at the time of purchase? It should be changed every 30k miles or three years.
Old 03-20-14, 11:32 AM
queboy89
Driver School Candidate