want to install memory seat option- help needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-12, 05:44 PM
Tuske427
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default want to install memory seat option- help needed

Hi:

My wife just picked up an '09 IS 350 and while it's an awesome car, one option we'd like to have on it is memory seats.

I'd like add this feature to the car. However, I'm not exactly sure what all is involved. Ideally, I'm wishing it'd be little more than locating the switch itself, a door panel section (or wherever the switches are located) from someone parting out a car/ junkyard, etc. and plug them into the factory harness. I'm "hoping" the harness is already pre-wired for this (many newer cars seem to be like this).

Does anyone have any experience with this? Or a service manual? or could direct me to where I could get a service manual. I doubt the local haynes/ chiltons would have this. I'm thinking I need a factory service manual.

Since I'm new to this car, I thought I'd start here. any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!!
Old 07-22-12, 05:57 PM
inno
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Good question! I was surprised to see I had bought a 2010 IS350 with Nav and it had no seat memory.
Old 07-22-12, 07:29 PM
Jake
Lead Lap

I believe that you only get the memory seat function on the Luxury package, and certain older Sport packages.
Old 07-22-12, 07:34 PM
iRock
Lexus Champion

Sure would be nice if it was easy to add
Old 07-22-12, 08:41 PM
Evitzee
Lexus Champion

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Anything is possible but the memory seat remembers the steering wheel position, all seat positions as well as the outside mirror settings. Adding this after the fact would not be easy, imo. And the option has the ability to store up to 3 positions for the driver and passenger seat. I don't think it is feasible.
Old 07-23-12, 10:19 AM
Kurtz
Lexus Fanatic

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Memory seats came with the luxury package or the sport package.