IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

How hard is it to install HID?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-09, 10:28 AM
rscott22
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How hard is it to install HID?

Hey guys My car is very basic and I would like something to bling it up a little. I was looking for HID and came across these:

http://www.wotm .com/halohidkit.html#

I am new to the HID world so im not sure if these are even a good brand or not. If someone could help me out here I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Ryan
Old 12-09-09, 10:53 AM
Jetfire
Royale with cheese

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

it's pretty easy to install the hids, just need a 10mm socket and a ratchet.

first you pop off the plastic engine covers. then you ned to unbolt the intake box. and the windshield fluid reservoir tube(just yank it out)

how neat you want everything to look is what takes the most time.

here's the install thread

you should just buy HIDs from the vendors on this site. pretty great prices. HIDextra sells theirs for $60.

I personally went with the xtreme kit from xenondepot.
Old 12-09-09, 11:00 AM
hybridanim
Lead Lap

+1 for xtreme kit from xenondepot
Old 12-09-09, 11:14 AM
JDKane527
Lexus Champion

I think he's talking about HID fogs. You may have to end up taking off your front bumper, unless you can work in the side fenders.
Old 12-09-09, 11:24 AM
rscott22
Pole Position

Thanks for all the info so far guys one more thing though:

1. How durable are these?

2. I have no idea what type a bulb I need for my low beams I think H11????

If someone could let me know I would really appreciate it!
Old 12-09-09, 11:33 AM
ScKcBc
Lexus Test Driver

get the kit from ddm-tuning.com they have a lifetime warranty and have the best price online. I've bought 5 kits from them so far. I just put their kit in my fogs actually, did it right through the plastic fender wells. The whole thing took 15-20 mins
Old 12-09-09, 11:45 AM
ChrISF
Lexus Champion