IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Need help with VSC and CEL

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-09, 05:00 PM
Zmiley
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with VSC and CEL

Hi, i am new to the world of Lexus... We now own a 2006 Lexus IS 250. So far I have had nothing but trouble with a car that is known to be very reliable in just a few days of owning the vehicle.

We purchased this vehicle used a few days ago and it passed safety. There is powertrain warranty only as there is 55 000 miles on this American car.

The car was safetied and 3 recalls were done at the dealership while still in the old owner's name. To make a long story short, we got the car back and changed it over into my name. Next thing ya know, the power steering failed (PS light came on) as my wife was driving it (my 20 month old was in the car as well). They admitted to the F-up. Something to do with the power steering recall. One of the electrical connectors came loose. Imagine that... My family could have been killed. We had it towed to the dealership and they fixed the problem. I was told they were going to tow it back to us. Next thing ya know, some ancient guy pulls into our driveway driving the car back to us, without our permission. They said they were going to tow it. Anything could have happened on that hour long ride to our place.

When my wife started the car, the CEL was on and it said "check VSC." Having thigns to do, as we all do, she pulled out of the driveway and the car stalled. It continuously did this.. Started, then stalled after 3 seconds...

I called the dealership the next morning. The manager apologized and towed us a loaner vehicle and towed ours back to their facility, but after the end of the day today, they still couldn't figure it out.... Any ideas?