IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

ipod integration by splicing AUX/12VDC jacks

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-08, 04:54 PM
gromf
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ipod integration by splicing AUX/12VDC jacks

Hey, gang. I've owned by 350 for a couple days now, and I love it so far! I discovered this forum when looking at ipod integration options, and I hope I am posting this in the right forum. (I didn't see one specifically electronics/audio oriented.) Sorry this is so long.

I know there's a lot of info on ways to integrate ipods into the nav system (which I have). For a number of reasons (perhaps based on flawed information? -- please correct me if I'm wrong), I *DO NOT* want to integrate my ipod controls through the nav:

(1) I don't want to lose access to the navigation display when monkeying with music. I'm new to my area and I need to rely on the nav system to get me where I'm going.

(2) I don't use playlists. Yes, I'm stubborn. But I don't. It seems like most of the integration systems (e.g., the VAIS one) only allow playlist access -- not full artist scrolling. (And if they did allow artist scrolling, the normal up/down scrolling on the nav is so slow/inefficient it would take me forever to get from A to Z.)

(3) I don't care about video.