IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models
View Poll Results: Which IS would you recommend for Northern NJ (snowy winters)?
Lexus IS250 AWD
49.12%
Lexus IS350 RWD
50.88%
Voters: 57. You may not vote on this poll

Need some advice...potential buyer of 250AWD or 350

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-08, 10:38 AM
goodfellaz
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need some advice...potential buyer of 250AWD or 350

Hey everyone, I'm new to these boards and also to knowledge of Lexus cars. I've been looking into buying a new car over the last few months, and I was originally considering the new Accord Coupe or the Acura TL. Then I checked the Lexus site and fell in love with the IS. Now I'm stuck between the 250AWD and the 350. Being that I live in Northern NJ in a rather high elevation, I wanted some advice on whether to stick with the AWD or go for the extra HP of the 350. I've been driving a 2000 Sebring Coupe for the last 8 years, so I haven't had much experience driving a RWD. Was wondering how drastic the handling difference is between the 250AWD and 350 in wet and snowy/icy conditions. Also, if I were to get the 250AWD, I'd load it with basically every option whereas if I got the 350, I'd probably do without the Birds Eye trim and telescoping memory steering column, etc. I think I am definitely going with the ML Nav in either case as the prospect of 300-Watts and DVD video is pretty nice. So for all you lucky IS owners out there, your feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance...
Old 02-26-08, 10:44 AM
Foodplz
Driver

I got the AWD because of exactly the weather issue. I live in mid/north MD and we get more of the snow/ice garbage and I preferred the reassurance of AWD. But I do drive a lot and I manage about 26-27 mpg.