IS - 1st Gen (2001-2005) Discussion about the IS models up to the 2005 model

Another noob here

Old 02-08-14, 12:25 PM
Swapper
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another noob here

Hey guys excited to finally be able to actually post on here. Ive been trying to get an is300 for the past 12 years and have gone through 35+ different cars and finally got one. fell in love with them pretty much when they came out but every time i was about to get one itd slip through my fingers. finally was able to get my hands on a decent one. now i have some questions. lol

Its a 01 is300 (of course) but i dunno how to go about telling what different options were ordered on it or not. the car is bone stock and even has a complete first aid kit. (does not have the tool kit though). think it was owned by an older person. it looks to be pretty well taken care of.

Im not really goin to mod it at all until its paid off (which isnt long) but i do have some questions about a couple things.

anyways heres the car for the moment.

Old 02-09-14, 07:35 AM
mitsuguy
Maintenance Moderator

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

IS's don't have toolkits, just some random tools pressed into the foam piece that goes around the spare tire... There weren't a whole lot of options in 01... The most important one is if the car has a limited slip differential. Look at the door sticker for a 4 letter alpha numeric sequence that looks like B01B... The 4th letter is the key, if it is a B or C, you have LSD, which is awesome, if its an A, no LSD... All IS have hid's and 6 disc in dash changer, maybe the only other real option was sunroof or not, though I'm not sure... (Edit: only option aside from what I listed is heated seats or not)

Welcome and looks good, my second favorite color of the IS's...

Last edited by mitsuguy; 02-09-14 at 07:47 AM.
Old 02-09-14, 12:41 PM
Swapper
Driver School Candidate

thanx..