IS - 1st Gen (2001-2005) Discussion about the IS models up to the 2005 model

Newbie!!!! Intro & a couple ??'s

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-10, 06:48 AM
afoist
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie!!!! Intro & a couple ??'s

Whats up guys, im new to the board and wanted to introduce myself. im currently in Indiana for another 2 weeks but will then be living in Florida for the forseeable future for work. Im an engineer for Cummins Engine Co. (The diesel engine) and took a new job in Jacksonville so if anyone from the area reads this hit me up! I need to make some new friends down there haha.

I do NOT own a Lexus at this time but have my eyes on a few and will be picking up one in the next week I hope. Its between a 1999 SC300 or a 2001 IS300.

I wanted to ask those that have either the IS or SC how reliable are they? The 1999 SC im lookin at has 140k on it w/ auto trans. and the 2001 IS has 117k with auto trans. Both seem in good overall shape, int/ext but im mostly concerned with the drivetrain. Should I be weary of buying one with this high of mileage?

Can you let me know any things specific I should be looking for when checking one out?

Thanks again guys and looking forward to becoming a bigger part of CL!.

Andy
Old 01-14-10, 07:21 AM
cricket056
Driver

I have an 02 IS300, the only concern I would have with the mileage is that the 90K service (timing belt, water pump, etc.) has been done. I see guys on other forums putting turbo on cars with similar mileage and rebuilding around 230-280K. As long as there are no leaks and the service is up to date it should be a solid car for ya!

Not sure on the SC thought they both have the same 2jzge so the maintenance should be the similar but I believe there is another recommened service at 120K.

Im in MI just over the state line near South Bend. If you want to look one over well I got mine up on stands if you're close.
Old 01-14-10, 07:53 AM
UNOHOO

Received 1 Like on 1 Post