IS - 1st Gen (2001-2005) Discussion about the IS models up to the 2005 model

help-Engine bogging 3-4500rpm????

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-08, 06:46 AM
import2nr
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help-Engine bogging 3-4500rpm????

Recently a problem started with my is300 where the engine seems to bog right when the , sorry like i posted before im really new to lexus/toyota ive had hondas all my life till now and thought this was a move in the right direction, so far im starting to wonder.
anyway in honda land, id describe it right as the Vtec would kick in. It like just loses power severly, but if you just stay in the rpms it will eventually kick on and the powers back, or if you lift off the throttle for a second and then hit it again it takes off like a rocket. its a 5 speed and the trac control is off when this is happening. it has a K&N intake system and a hp cat back, thats the only engine mods.
Also it threw a code for cyl #1 misfire 2 weeks ago, the mechanic told me it was because i fueled it with the gas cap off? It hasnt come on since.
Im thinking of starting with cleaning the MAF sensor,checking the plugs to see if any are lean, and if any are cleaning the injectors?(not sure how to do that)
any other ideas of what this problem is steming from?????? or tips on cleaning the MAF/injectors
Old 03-26-08, 08:25 AM
lexdymndz
Lead Lap

interesting. does your K&N have a sheild? it could be turbulent air from the radiator fan messing with the airflow and feeding it hot air.
id say start by cleaning your MAF sensor. link to isfanatics.com: http://www.isfanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93

Originally Posted by my.IS/ IS300.NET
i would only use electrical parts cleaner. stuff for circuit boards etc.
not really the compressed air keyboard stuff. its a liquid that leaves no residue.
not brake cleaner not carb spray.