IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

All-Season Tires: Michelin A/S Plus vs Continental DWS

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-13, 10:18 PM
Aggression
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default All-Season Tires: Michelin A/S Plus vs Continental DWS

I've spent the last few hours searching the forums and reading up on tons of different tire experiences and have decided on getting wider tires: 245/35/19 fronts and 285/30/19 rears. (Gotta thank Lou for all his posts on increased tire width - very enlightening for me.) Since I'm a spirited driver and can't seem to fight the urge to aggressively launch at stoplights (thanks Joe Z for your exhaust and its addictive sound LOL), I've decided to get all-season tires due to their extended tread-life. I've narrowed it down to the following two all-season tires:

1) Michelin Pilot Sport A/S Plus
2) Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Can anybody chime in on how they compare with regards to:

1) Tread-life
2) Grip and Noise (considering I like launching from a dead stop, will have Joe Z exhaust + Sikky headers, and live in TX)

My 3rd choice would be Michelin PSS, but I don't want to buy tires every ~15k miles based on my driving habits.

Thanks in advance for any help you gents can provide!

*edit*
I have an '08 at stock height on stock rims.

Last edited by Aggression; 02-21-13 at 01:50 AM.
Old 02-20-13, 10:25 PM
vmatheboss
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i got my continental DWS installed about a month ago... i knew noting about them and was referred by my tire shop that these were best bang for the buck....

definitely has good grip at launches... on manual mode from 1st to 2nd gear i do screech on launches...i havent had it long enough to let you know about tread life...but i hang turns and take off like crazy at stops...
Old 02-20-13, 11:08 PM
ISFpat
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts