IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Need advice on 2008 IS-F

Old 12-18-12, 11:52 PM
varunkumar
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Need advice on 2008 IS-F

Hi guys,
I am new to Lexus. I am planning to buy a 2008 IS-F with 38000 miles out of warranty. Is it advisable ?? How reliable is the car ?? My brother was mentioning about some snow mode which cuts off about 200 hp and becomes very fuel efficient and behaves like an IS250, Is that true ?

Thanks for your help.
Old 12-19-12, 12:09 AM
ISFPOWER
Lexus Champion

Received 144 Likes on 119 Posts

very reliable. the gas has always been good with me, no snow mode needed. just be easy on the gas and keep the rpms low and you are looking at 25+ mpg. i get 32 on the highway.

seems like the only thing you need to do is oil change and brake jobs on this car.

only other thing is the water pump going out but it's not really expensive, even if you are out of warranty.
Old 12-19-12, 12:18 AM
Just F Me
Lexus Champion

Received 22 Likes on 9 Posts

My transmission went out at 87k...if i paid for it myself, it would have been $6000 bucks, but Lexus kicked half the cost of a replacement transmission even though i was out of warranty.

if you drive a lot, maintenance will be pricey. Front brakes will probably be replaced every 30-40k miles. Rear brakes can last you 70k+ miles. These are OEM parts...buy after market, and the life could be more or less. Be prepared for $1800 in parts for front and rear, and dealers will easily charge you $2500-3000 just to replace your brakes. (this is highway robbery, you can do it yourself for $1800 with OEM parts, or as little as $600 with aftermarket parts, how good these aftermarket parts are? I'll let you know in 30k miles if i still even have my IS F then)

Oil changes will cost more since it's 10 quarts of oil, and if you run synthetic, more $.