IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

2011 Mark Levinson stereo upgrade / build

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-12, 06:34 AM
PhiDeltBee
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2011 Mark Levinson stereo upgrade / build

First of all, I am NOT a professional installer...just a guy that's looking to do this for the first time.

Well, I wasn't really going to post anything about my stereo build, but I've noticed some things have changed on the Mark Levinson on my 2011 model. Namely, the wire colors off the amp! What a pain to read these forums and not be able to find the proper wires to tap to get a full signal. i.e. pink and brown are still the color of the right front midwoofer, but guess what? Pink and brown don't exist at the amp! Lovely. It's red and white at the amp. Guess what else? So is the front left midwoofer...it's a red and white set as well. Good luck guessing which is which! Luckily, I'm going to provide you with that information. Here's the equipment I'm using:

Polk Audio PA D5000.5 D Class Amplifier (5 channel to run midwoofers, tweeters, and sub)
Polk Audio MM 6501 6-1/2" midwoofers with 1" tweeter (components)
AudioControl LC6i (with internal summing of the frequencies)
12" JL Audio W3V (2Ohm)

Basically, I just want a better sounding stereo. I think that my previous BMW's Harmon Kardon stereos were much better than the ML. I even tried just setting up my sub and it still never sounded good. So that's when I decided to get some component speakers. So, that being said, here are the speaker wire colors.

Subwoofer is still: Brown + Lime Green -
Front Left Highs: Skyblue + Green -
Front Right Highs: Black + Gray -

Front Left Midwoofer: White + Red -
Front Right Midwoofer: Red + White -

Here's a picture of the ML front right midwoofer showing pink and brown wires.

Here's a picture of the actual "plug" that has the sub and front door high wires. The yellow and black are the center speaker.