IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Thinking of coming to an ISF from an M3

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-15, 09:28 PM
3SPKY5U
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by jum3
OP, send a dealer complaint about the BMW dealership experience. You shouldn't have to fight or pay for repairs under warranty. A dealer should be thrilled to get warranty work. Its free money to them....

I drive 95% City and get 13.5-14.2 MPG... I don't drive fast -__- BUT, miles better than the C63's 11.5-12 MPG
Being from the other side of the fence (I'm an auto tech), I can tell you dealers themselves might like warranty, but good luck finding a tech who wants to be assigned "guess what's wrong" on a 15k transmission that BMW says can't be serviced, and won't be paid very well for his time (think maybe $25 in pocket if nothing is found). They just hand it off on the new guy, who doesn't find ****, then they charge you for their "wasted" time.

What really grills me, is they know I'm a tech, so they ignore my self diagnosis.

It took me, taking time out of work to lift my own car up, remove a ton of coverings and hunt for a leak. The leak wasn't the problem, but once the DCT has a small leak BMW has to drop the pans (mechatronics housing and DCT oil pan) to replace the seals. From there they discovered a faulty mechatronics unit and finally worked it out.
Old 06-28-15, 10:03 PM
JDMV8
Instructor

Received 193 Likes on 107 Posts

There's only one criterion, that if satisfied, the switch is a no-brainer: do you like the performance aspect of the ISF? (eg the handling, acceleration, balance)
If your answer is yes, then the switch is a no brainer.
You can beat this car into oblivion and get so much joy out of it and it won't turn its back on you.
I love the e9x M3s, but I honestly would not ever want to own one.