IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Well guess it's time to kill it with fire.

Old 03-03-15, 11:22 AM
ihiryu
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Well guess it's time to kill it with fire.

So my never ending quest on P0500.

Replaced TCM ECU
Replaced Speed Sensor number 1 (in transmission)
Transmission Fluid change (while doing the last one)

Still nothing.

Code shows P0500

I checked the wiring by the book from the transmission harness up to TCM plugs, and they show good. Book tells you to replace both (which I have).

Check the ECU to the cluster, tells you the replace engine ecu and cluster (replaced cluster).

At this point, I'm not sure what else to do. I doubt it's an ECU, but that's the only thing left. I just don't want to shell out anymore money.

I am an experienced mechanic, I've followed everything to the T, but can't figure this one out. As a last ditch effort I took it to the dealer who charged me $125, just to tell me that I have too many mods, and they don't want to touch it.

(but they did kindly print out information on how to diag the P0500).

I talked to my wife, and remembers that I had already done the coils and speakers, and everything was fine until we took a family trip to Dallas in the F.
So I know none of the aftermarket is causing it.

On the techstream, I can go to live data, and it clearly shows that there is not a speed signal. The gauge cluster speed works fine, and if I cleared the code and keep it under 2000 RPM's the code will never come on (these are parameters for the speed sensor code). I'm just really at a loss.
Old 03-03-15, 11:37 AM
I8ABMR
Lexus Fanatic

Received 100 Likes on 65 Posts

Damn, man. If I had hair Id pull it out after all that. Hope you get it sorted. What mods do you have ??
Old 03-03-15, 11:43 AM
RedlineAZ
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts