IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

2014 IS-F Production Wrap?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-13, 03:00 PM
mikersoft
Lexus Test Driver

Received 79 Likes on 57 Posts
Default 2014 IS-F Production Wrap?

Greetings.. Long time lurker and potential IS-F noob here.

I plan to replace my '06 IS350 soon and the IS-F is a serious contender. I may consider a lightly used '12 or '13, but more than likely I'll go for a 2014. Does anyone know the approximate cut-off for production of the IS-F? If I can't find what I want in a lot, I'm willing to order one. Since I still haven't decided yet, I need to make sure I don't miss out on a new IS-F if that's what I decide on.

I have to say, I've only begun my research and this decision is already driving me crazy. Other cars that interest me are:

1. CLA45 AMG
2. RS3
3. ATS-V
4. 2015 Mustang
5. C63 AMG - probably out of my price range once some options are added
6. M3 - probably out of my price range once some options are added

Hell, I've even thought about keeping my IS as a DD/winter car and getting a C7 (Z51) as a fair weather toy.

Anyway, having driven the IS350 for nearly 8 years, I still think it's a great car. With way more power, a better transmission, and updated options, I think I could be perfectly happy in an IS-F for the next 7-8 years. Of course, there's the Lexus reliability factor too. Maintenance costs and potential reliability issues are concerns with most of the cars listed above.

-Mike
Old 12-27-13, 03:07 PM
zims350
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I believe if you are comparing those vehicles on the list, only a couple of them are even comparable to the ISF, the CLA45 is a very noisy road noise, and a 4 cylinder in the end. The 2 that are comparable are the m3 and C63 but then again it depends how much you want for reliability and maintence and also resale value.
Old 12-27-13, 03:22 PM
mikersoft
Lexus Test Driver