IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Lexus IS-F or MB C63 AMG

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-08, 10:57 PM
lobuxracer
Tech Info Resource

Received 3,838 Likes on 2,327 Posts

Originally Posted by isbeater
Well you can't have it all... realistically all manuf (M3, C63, ISF) all have their own pros...

You need to choose what's most important to you. The reliability of the C63 is pretty good so far from what I read. Realistically, in my opinion, if you buy any of these cars and worry about the price of gas, then you can't really afford the car and should pick an IS350 or something of that nature.
Why do people always say something like this? What do you mean "can't afford it?" What an arrogant thing to say. Maybe I've owned things that get less than 12 mpg and I didn't like it - regardless of the cost. Maybe I've been building engines for the last 28 years and I think anything that inefficient is a fundamentally poor design. I could certainly afford 6 mpg from my bike at the track, but I'd never tolerate that on the street. Can't afford it? I don't think that's my problem at all.

Last edited by lobuxracer; 10-27-08 at 11:06 PM.
Old 10-28-08, 12:34 AM
XhyDra
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I'd go with the IS-F,
although the HP in the C63 is very attractive I don't think it's attractive enough to draw me to it, I think for me it's tried and proven reliability that makes sense when I'm buying something, because although failure is not something that's always inevitable, it's rather calming when you have that piece of mind that something is going to give you less headaches in your daily life.

That being said I love my IS250, a bit slow but it takes care of me.

I'd still love to have an IS-F as a weekend car, that would be real nice!
Old 10-28-08, 07:38 AM
isbeater
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by lobuxracer