IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Decisions Decisions

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-07, 01:04 PM
inxexisten
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Decisions Decisions

Like many of you... I am debating on whether trading in my IS350 for something faster and more performance oriented. I am trying to make up my mind if I would continue modifying my IS350 or wait to and get a IS-F,GTR, or M3 (would consider a c63 AMG but I hate mercedes' reliability, look, and interior is a bit meh for my taste and Mercedes is more for the older generations considering I am just a college student). I wouldn't want to continue to modifying my IS350 if I will end up trading it in in another 7-8 months. I have only had my IS350 for about five months but it was paid off in full... so no worries about all those issues and I know I would be taking a depreciation hit, but I do not care. Has anyone heavily modified a IS350 to be a competent track car?

Last edited by inxexisten; 10-26-07 at 10:38 PM.
Old 10-26-07, 01:28 PM
Redpaste
Lead Lap

I was in the same situation you are in. I decided to sell my IS350 (modified, see sig below) and just get a beater G35(which I hate).

If you were to modify your IS350 to a serious track car, I believe you would be spending upwards to another 15K in mods. which would basically equal out to a new IS-F.

I know of only one person on this forum that made his into a track car, although impressive, i would say it was rather fruitless, he has since moved on and sold his IS for a 335. The IS is going to be rather hard to do any forms of FI to it. Even the supercharger proved to be a failure and very expensive.

But if your looking for a SERIOUS track car, maybe the IS-F isn't what your looking for either
Old 10-26-07, 04:57 PM
PhilipMSPT
Cycle Savant

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

If you want a track car, the IS-F is appropriate.

However, if you just "want a faster car" for everyday driving, a modified IS350 shall do the trick.