IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Excess wear and use policy?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-17, 09:03 AM
confuseiss
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Excess wear and use policy?

Question - is it worth it to cancel the $30 a month excess wear and use policy? Would bring my monthly payment down from 400 to 370ish. Have any of you had any trouble when returning your Lexus/experience with this policy? I also didn't realize you could negotiate the price on this policy.

Basically:
-$30 a month
-Single event protection up to $2k
-$7500 total cover

Basically, paying out 875ish for 33 months. Which means I could do damage up to 875, and still be even.

However, I would say that I'm a pretty meh/new driver so maybe I should keep it?
Old 01-13-17, 10:32 AM
Handi
Rookie

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

If this is your first time to have it then keep it. Read what the policy covers and watch closely and use it when you spot an issue.
If your going to pay for it use it. I think a lot of people buy packages like this and forget about them and the dealer makes out.
I did the same thing with an interior repair, I am in a wheel chair and knew that by putting the chair in the back seat I would scuff up the interior.
Well it expired because I had forgot to use it.
Good Luck
Old 01-13-17, 09:44 PM
confuseiss
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

See the only thing is it doesn't cover anything during the course of the lease (in which case, I might just pay for it to be repaired if happens early on in the lease because scratches/damage just kinda look bad)? It's just for when I return the car, I can't get dinged for damage.
Old 01-13-17, 10:19 PM
isosunrise
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I didn't even know this existed... I wonder if I have this. I opted for wheel and tire protection when I did my lease deal.. contract is locked up and a pain in the *** to get too. LFS has this on file?