IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Recommended DashCam?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-16, 11:44 AM
gnawhdivad
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have the blackvue dr650gw-2ch and no regrets.
Two channels, so the camera is recording video front and back. The cameras are not big so it hides very well in the car. There is a setting where you can turn off the led recording on light so the camera look stealth. With the powermagic pro, it allows the camera to be on during parking and you can have the setting to be on for 6+hrs, and the camera shuts off when your car battery is below 12v.
I am also a part time college student while part time work, so the price of $400-$500 set up can be a steep cost at first. However, in the long run, I have no regrets at all.
I have gotten so many accidents where people hit and runs my car (including driving and parking accidents), and my deductible is $500. After all the car accident, I never end up paying my deductible for accidents that were hit and run.
In the long run, my investment of $400-500 set up paid off all my hassle. When I file insurance claims, I turn in the video file, and I'm done, the other party can just shut their mouth about lying.

Also, for those who are thinking about buying a budget camera, in my opinion its a hit and miss. For some it can work out for them with budget price efficient cameras, however, some of those camera may not be able to withstand the temperature you are living in. The excessive heat and cold that the camera has to take every day climate and can bring problems.

I like to do it right and pay the price once, rather than paying a budget camera and ending up buying a new one in a short term.
But then again, thats my opinion and pros and cons before purchasing my black box. Its just my opinion, I am sure people have used budget and more cost efficient cameras that works for them perfectly :]
Old 04-28-16, 11:49 AM
nathantse