IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Brake Dust

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-16, 09:57 AM
Fantasy332
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Smile Brake Dust

I have the stock alloy rims that comes with the IS300 F sport but it gets really dirty easily with all the brake dust. I'm just wondering, what do you guys use to clean it off? Sorry I'm new to this... kinda noob. THANKS
Old 02-20-16, 10:20 AM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 78 Likes on 60 Posts

I personally like using Meguiars DUB wheel cleaner. It's effective at breaking down brake dust, but gentle enough that it won't harm your wheel's surface. Not sure if they have it in Canada, but I found mine at Walmart.
Old 02-20-16, 10:22 AM
Fantasy332
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by GSteg
I personally like using Meguiars DUB wheel cleaner. It's effective at breaking down brake dust, but gentle enough that it won't harm your wheel's surface. Not sure if they have it in Canada, but I found mine at Walmart.
Thanks for the insight! I'll take a look into it!
Old 02-20-16, 11:54 AM
Avi8orco
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Change the brake pads. I was cleaning mine every two days when I bought the car with the stock pads. Now that I have the Akebono ProAct ceramics on it, I clean them with the regular car wash soap and once a week with the rest of the car. There is very little dust and what little is there comes off easy, no special cleaners required.
Old 02-20-16, 05:22 PM
specONE
Racer

Received 487 Likes on 246 Posts

Fsport versions of car kicks out more brake dust. (Performance pads)
Get brake pads replaced for one from non Fsport version and it will drastically lower brake dust on wheels.
Old 02-20-16, 09:39 PM
gqwolf
Rookie

Originally Posted by Avi8orco