IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

How frequent does the Carbon Buildup issue require user attention? (is it a hassle?)

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-15, 12:14 PM
letmewrite
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How frequent does the Carbon Buildup issue require user attention? (is it a hassle?)

Hey guys, I'm looking to buy a 2007-2009 IS 250.

I've read a lot about this carbon buildup issue on the forums, and it seems like a design issue that affects all IS250s up to early 2010 productions models, which has me a little worried.

My question is, when this issue does occur, how frequent does this issue require owner attention when it does give you misfire codes / stalling at stops? I'm willing to do yearly carbon cleanings along with annual inspections, but would rather steer away if it means getting misfire codes and stalling at stops every other month.

Any ideas?

(Apologies if i'm breaking any rules, I'm fairly new to the forum. I tried a search couldn't find any threads on the frequency of this issue in particular)
Old 12-30-15, 12:23 PM
Gville350

Received 430 Likes on 384 Posts

Frequency is due to ALOT of factors. The main thing is how the previous owner drove the car and the frequency which it was driven. I'd be looking for a daily driver.

When you find one, just make sure it take it through its paces. Make sure that you're able to start the car yourself from stone cold to operating temp. Anything abnormal that arises (rough idle, dropping rpm at a stop, etc), I'd find another.
Old 12-30-15, 12:42 PM
Bichon
Super Moderator

Received 255 Likes on 225 Posts

Have you considered the IS350? The IS350 has both port and direct injectors, so it doesn't suffer from this issue.
Old 12-30-15, 01:11 PM
letmewrite
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Gville350