IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Alternator problems maybe?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-15, 06:54 PM
Auston71
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alternator problems maybe?

Hey guys I'm new to Lexus, got an 06 IS350 about two months ago. Great car and haven't had any problems til today. I was driving back from the store and the radio sound turned off, but nav screen was still on. Then the battery light came on, then lost power steering, then all lights other than check engine light came one (abs, brake, airbag, battery, check vac, etc). I got it home just a block away with the transmission hesitating and then shifting hard, and the a/c shut off. The car was still running fine but no electronics were working. I pulled the battery out and it was hot and swollen. Took it to get tested and they couldn't test it so I just bought a new one. Got home and dropped the new battery in and it started up fine, no lights on. Turned the a/c on and the rpms lowered so fast I thought it was going to die. Then when you step on the accelerator it would act like its gonna die and then rev up. I'm getting it towed to the dealer tomorrow to check it out but didn't know if anyone else had this problem. I have read many threads and can't find one were the had the check vsc but not the check engine light like mine, most threads they have both lights which I do not have. Any help/ideas is much appreciated! Thanks guys
Old 07-21-15, 07:02 PM
Bichon
Super Moderator

Received 255 Likes on 225 Posts

This definitely sounds like a bad alternator to me.
Old 07-21-15, 07:03 PM
Auston71
Driver School Candidate

I thought so too, I had an alternator go out on my Ram and same thing happened so I'm hoping that's it. Guess we will find out tomorrow!
Old 07-21-15, 07:10 PM
firelikeiy
Intermediate

Received 55 Likes on 48 Posts