IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Popped Tires, Do i need to replace all 4 or just 2?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-14, 07:00 AM
carlosL250
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Popped Tires, Do i need to replace all 4 or just 2?

Hi all,

I currently drive a 2008 is250 AWD. So my tire popped yesterday and to my luck i coudln't even put the spare on because my wheel lock was stripped. Aside from that I've been told that I need to change all 4 tires because its all wheel drive. I was wondering if I can just replace one tire or do I have to replace all 4 or maybe just 2? I'm not sure what the thread level is but i'll bring it to a mechanic to check. Also if I have to change one I'll just buy the same tire on amazon, but if i have to change all 4 I might go with something else. Does anyone have any good recommendations? I'm a college student so the cheaper the better!

Here's the tire I'm going to replace
Amazon.com: Continental ExtremeContact DWS All-Season Tire - 225/45R17  91W: Automotive Amazon.com: Continental ExtremeContact DWS All-Season Tire - 225/45R17 91W: Automotive

What are your views on these and are there any better or similar ones out there for a cheaper price?

Thank you in advance for all the help!
Old 06-05-14, 08:15 AM
idoke1
Instructor

Received 50 Likes on 31 Posts

It just depends how low the trend is on your tires. If all are low, get all 4 tires.
Old 06-05-14, 08:29 AM
carlosL250
Rookie

Originally Posted by idoke1
It just depends how low the trend is on your tires. If all are low, get all 4 tires.
So how much is consider good enough where I just need to replace one or 2?
Old 06-05-14, 08:49 AM
embolism
Lead Lap

I know that on a front wheel drive car, you should put new tires on the rear axle to avoid spinning out.
On AWD though, there is a tolerance, specified by the manufacturer, as to how much tread difference can exist btw the front and rear. Too much and you risk damage to the transfer case.