RWD in the snow?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-13, 11:24 AM
Lexicano
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RWD in the snow?

Hello,

I am on the verge of purchasing a 2008 Lexus IS250 (Auto 2.5L, RWD).
I have been eyeing this car for about three years now, but my main concern is going with the RWD instead of the AWD.

I live in Toronto, and have been driving FWD cars my entire life.

I hear horror stories of how poorly performing the RWD cars are in the snow, despite having winter tires.

Does anyone have any experience with driving the Lexus IS250 FWD in the snow?
Mind sharing your experiences?
Old 04-02-13, 11:28 AM
laobo979
Lead Lap

Received 66 Likes on 47 Posts

I have is350 with snow tires and been 3 season with out an issue. Just remember most of the time after a snow storm roads will be plowed anyways. Only thing is never get caught on a step hill on a stop. With snow tires and a great driver you shouldn't have an issues. On another note if your getting RWD check the prices on 350 if it the same go 350. Plus get 07-up so you can turn traction control off during winter driving.
Old 04-02-13, 11:38 AM
sm1ke
Racer

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts

x2 on getting the 07+ for the ability to turn traction control off. I personally think RWD cars are fine in the winter with proper tires and a light foot.

mixa86 hated driving the IS250 in the snow, I think he's in NY too? Maybe he can chime in..
Old 04-02-13, 11:42 AM
minato
Pole Position

snow tyres + snow mode + driving accorging to the weather and you should be fine
yeah 07+ is a must
I have an AWD though
Old 04-02-13, 01:06 PM
vapid2323
Pole Position

You can turn traction control off in a 06 RWD, it just requires the pedal dance. You should be able to search and see how to do it.
Old 04-02-13, 01:27 PM
sm1ke
Racer

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts