IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Jiggly waterpump pulley help

Old 03-28-13, 01:25 AM
Twisties88
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jiggly waterpump pulley help

Hey guys, my is250 2006 with 115,000k's on it is still going strong after changing out my spark plugs.

Soon after i've noticed this chirping sound like a cricket coming from the engine bay quite noticeable. Its mainly on when my car is in gear (drive or reverse) however is quieter (but still present) when in neutral.

I heard loose spark plugs could be the cause but i had them re-torqued to the correct figure so it shouldn't be from the new plugs.

I checked the pulley arrangement and all the pulleys are spinning without much movement except for my waterpump pulley (with 4 bolts on it). Its still spinning but the pulley looks as though its loose as it moves up and down violently.

QUESTION:
I'm no mechanic, but can i just find a way to tighten those 4 screws on the pulley to stop it from jiggling? or is it something i'll need to get done properly i.e. change the waterpump + pulley etc.

thanks!
Old 03-28-13, 05:40 AM
accelerate
Lead Lap

Water pumps on our cars are know to go bad, so if it hasn't been replaced yet that's probably what it is.
Old 03-28-13, 05:40 AM
B16da9
Racer

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

If the pulley itself is bolted tight and if you grab it with your hand and have free play then I would say your water pump is shot. I personally would not drive this car until you get this fixed as you can overheat the engine causing you thousands in damage.

If you want to save some money you can purchase the Aisin water pump bellow. Aisin is the O.E manufacturer for Toyota for their waters pumps so you'll be getting the same exact part that is on your car now. The only diffrence would be that it wont have the Toyota stamp on it.