Search this Thread

Old 04-07-12, 02:01 PM
visom1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i get an IS250?

Hi guys just needed some opinions.

Here's the situation:
-I currently drive a 2001 corolla S, parents don't want me driving it much longer cause it is a very small, light and thin car... im not a fan of it either but i do love the mileage and reliability. Parents and I both want something a little more safe to drive.
-I'm a college student, will graduate with Bachelors in engineering in 2-3 years (I don't have student debt fortunately due to financial aid and attending a junior for a few years)
-Aiming for 15k-18k price range for IS250, currently have enough to pay off 1/3 of that, parents will pay off rest but I have to repay them back (so i can avoid interest from loans)
-I do have a job but pays only slightly more than minimum wage, but I'm very good at saving money and spending wisely
-Plan on driving the IS250 for 5-10 years... if i decide to get one

Is the IS250 too much for a person in my situation? I'm mostly looking at the IS250 cause I don't really like much other cars out there...

Thanks for any suggestions.

Last edited by visom1; 04-07-12 at 02:10 PM.
Old 04-07-12, 02:22 PM
dcl10
Driver School Candidate

I think it's a great car, thats why I just bought a new one, but honestly I just did a search on autotrader and the only thing I saw in that price range was an 06 with 120k miles. The IS is a reliable car, but nothing is perfect and you are still looking at a 6-7 year old vehicle, and parts are not cheap. If you keep it for 10 years you are almost certainly looking at some costly repairs down the line as you are going to have an almost 20 year old car on your hands.

If I was still in college and had that kind of money I would go for something newer, and more practical. A new elantra, 1-2 year old accord. Not the sexy options obviously, but in my opinion the smarter ones.
Old 04-07-12, 02:26 PM
robertrios