IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Drained transmission fluid accidentally

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-11, 11:17 PM
XxdbxX
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drained transmission fluid accidentally

Hey everyone, noob here..im not an expert on cars(obviously) but ive always done the oil change on all of the cars i had, today while doing an oil change,i accidentally drained about 2.5 quarts of transmission fluid off my is250 thinking it was the engine oil pan(i know, im an idiot), put the plug back in, changed the oil filter, then poured the oil in the engine then drove about 4-6 miles, at stop i pressed the gas and the car revved from 0 to 3000rpm then would drop down to 2000rpm in a beat, did that about 4 times thinking it was normal, then boom check vsc, engine light, and the traction light came on. so basically i had 13 quartz combination of the new and the old engine oil and 2.5 less transmission fluid when i drove it..My question is, do you think i did any damage to my car(engine, transmission)?

Im gonna have the car towed to the dealership by monday so they can flush the transmission and put some fluid in it, but i just wanna know, if there's anyone out there that did the same mistake i did, or know about this stuff..thanks, id appreciate anyone that could help
Old 11-20-11, 12:16 AM
RTIS250
Yes. I drove the LFA.

Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts

It is entirely possible that you fried the transmission. You basically starved the trans of oil. If you tried to accelerate and the engine revved and the car didnt move, thats definitely not a good sign. Overfilling oil by that much can do damage as well. You wont know til you take it to the dealer... possible that it didnt do any damage, and possible that it did a lot of damage.
Old 11-20-11, 12:18 AM
MyIS350G
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts