Low Engine Oil Level Light...

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-11, 09:24 PM
azncaboy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low Engine Oil Level Light...

Hi All,

Sorry I am a newbie. The "Low Engine Oil Level" indicator goes on for about a min and turns off while I am driving recently. I checked the Oil Level and there is enough oil in there. Anyone know what the problem might be? Maybe the sensors are faulty? Any help will be appreciated.
Old 10-09-11, 09:56 PM
VIS250P
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

U might have front cover leak due to TSB or maybe oil leak underneat... CHECK underneat or pop hood open and look at front cover
Old 10-09-11, 10:06 PM
cdtran2
Rookie

When was the last time you did an oil change? Mine started doing that too at around 6k after my oil change. Dealership changed my oil during my 60k service and the light hasn't come back since.
Old 10-09-11, 10:48 PM
brettno1
Rookie

If it comes on everytime you start the car and then goes off about a minute later, then it's telling you it's time for an oil change. This will happen every 5000 miles, and can easily be reset after the oil change. (this is assuming your oil level is full)
Old 10-10-11, 06:07 AM
Kurtz
Lexus Fanatic

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by brettno1
If it comes on everytime you start the car and then goes off about a minute later, then it's telling you it's time for an oil change. This will happen every 5000 miles, and can easily be reset after the oil change. (this is assuming your oil level is full)
No, no, no.... that's a completely different thing.

Every 5k it tells you service is required. And it stays on until you reset it.

The OP has a low oil level light, which isn't the same message at all and then it turns off.