IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Front turn signal bulbs SOB to change!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-11, 11:06 AM
MrBBQ
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front turn signal bulbs SOB to change!

Picked up some bluish white Polarg bulbs for the front turn signals from another CL member and just got done putting them in. What should have took less than 10min on other cars took about an hour to do on my IS350. Why take so long for 4 bulbs? Pretty much the front bumper has to be removed to access the area needed to change out the turn signal bulbs. Not just that, the reinforcement bar also has to be removed to access and change out the inner turn signal bulbs. I'm a pro at removing my front bumper so it's no big deal for me, but I can't imagine people who will faint seeing the bumper off the car to do this themselves. It must suck if the bulbs go out on a out of warranty car. Dealer will probably charge $$$ due to needing the bumper and reinforement bar to be removed to change out a bulb. Most people will probably just live with a burnt out bulb in this case.. Hmmmmm.. Lexus probably purposely engineered it this way... $$$
Attached Thumbnails Front turn signal bulbs SOB to change!-imag1017-picsay.jpg  

Last edited by MrBBQ; 08-16-11 at 12:06 AM.
Old 08-12-11, 11:12 AM
chi123
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Hmm, maybe why our cars have 4 signal bulbs? In case one goes out, there's another since it's such a pain to change.

But good to know, I'm wanting to get rid of the egg yolk look in mine but changing them out to LEDs. Are white turn signals even legal?
Old 08-12-11, 11:16 AM
c-low
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

what was the bulb # you used? i was thinking of using the chrome coated amber turn signal bulbs. but im not stateside to attack this project quite yet lol
Old 08-12-11, 11:22 AM
c-low
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by chi123