IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

IS250/350 Remote Start Options

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-09, 06:44 AM
NICKY V
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question IS250/350 Remote Start Options

Newbie here, looking to buy an 09 250 or 350 (most probably 350) in the Spring.

I'm finding this site very informative, but have seen nothing so far relating to remote starters. I know it's not an option (which I find very hard to believe), but is there a possibilty of an after market remote starter that won't affect the warranty? Any experiences out there?
Old 01-06-09, 08:18 AM
Shahryar
Lead Lap

I'd be interested to know about this.
Old 01-06-09, 08:20 AM
ChrISF
Lexus Champion

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts

most likely, it will affect the warranty.
Old 01-06-09, 10:45 AM
Kurtz
Lexus Fanatic

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Do a search- there's a fairly detailed thread on exactly what you need to do it in the aftermarket.

It'll "affect" your warranty the same way any aftermarket part will- if THAT part causes a problem they won't fix it for free. Otherwise no change at all.
Old 01-07-09, 09:47 AM
Feirax
Driver

I know passnu2 has a remote start, I have one as well. See this thread for details.

I went with an aftermarket installer, but this past winter I received an add from my local Lexus dealer offering remote start installed for $399. I would have went with the dealer installed version if they offered a better range. Good luck and welcome to CL
Old 01-07-09, 10:03 AM
NICKY V
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Feirax
I know passnu2 has a remote start, I have one as well. See this thread for details.

I went with an aftermarket installer, but this past winter I received an add from my local Lexus dealer offering remote start installed for $399. I would have went with the dealer installed version if they offered a better range. Good luck and welcome to CL