10W7 and the ML amp, got some questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-07, 06:33 AM
tt061880
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default 10W7 and the ML amp, got some questions

Here is the situation.

I put the w7 in there last night, it sounds loud but seem like something is missing. This is what I have in mind to gather the rest of the missing signal. I'm planning to tap into the wires from all the midrange speakers and woofer speakers and sum them all up into two RCA cable. I am not sure which speakers to tap into.

here are my questions

1. Please look at the link and tell me which speakers I need to tap the wires, there are a total of 14 speakers. I know I definately don't need to tap onto the tweeter.

2. If I tap the wires onto the speaker wires, will the speakers lose a significant amount of audio or anything?

3. On the RCA cable, there is an outter ring and there's also a male pin in the center. Which one is negative and which one is positive.

I'm a newbie to car audio and I tried to do a lot of researchs before I post this so please forgive my ignorant if any of the above questions is stupid . Thank you in advance for your helps.

TT
Old 07-04-07, 08:58 AM
al503
Lexus Champion

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Very nice set up.

For the SPL, try adjusting it with the gain/input sensitivity.

For the 'missing' frequencies, before you tap into anything else, make sure that you've set low pass x-over correctly. You might not have it high enough. I would experiment with something around 80 hz and lower. If you want it to provide more mid-bass, increase it by 10 hz and so on until you get it to your liking.

You can also boost a range of frequencies (narrow or wide) with the 500/1. Most people boost the lower range 30-50 hz but there's no reason you couldn't try to boost it closer to the midrange.

The only negative here is that you might get some overlap of frequencies between the sub and the mid-bass speakers.
Old 07-04-07, 11:43 AM
tt061880