IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Bass Defeat

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-06, 11:48 AM
kj4976
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bass Defeat

I just got my subwoofer installed and it is not producing as much bass as it should. I elected not to replace the factory head unit. The factory head unit varies the bass level with the volume, so at low volume there is way too much bass, and at high volume I am not getting what I paid for. My installer told me the factory unit filters the bass and it will only play out of the stock subwoofer output. Because Lexus did not design the car to have an aftermarket subwoofer, the power was limited to keep from blowing the stock sub at full volume. I was wondering if anyone else has had these issues and/or knows how to resolve them. Thanks
Old 12-19-06, 12:01 PM
UHEARDME
Rookie

I am not an expert, however I think he may have tapped in after the OEM amplifier (on its output side) rather than it's input side. I am assuming the amp also has equalization, so the input to your aftermarket sub amp is a "filtered" input. I will let the experts here confirm, deny or expand on this.
Old 12-19-06, 12:10 PM
mlee21
Lexus Test Driver

look for a guy named cmusic on the forums, he knows ALOT about the 2is system.
Old 12-19-06, 01:17 PM
SParker1tx
Pole Position

Try This:

http://www.is350forums.com/index.php?showtopic=227
Old 12-19-06, 01:19 PM
cmusic
Pole Position

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

kj4976,

Your installer is correct. The 2IS's audio system filters out everything below 30 Hz going to the sub and 50 Hz going to the door woofers. I assume your installer hooked the aftermarket sub and amp to the factory subwoofer wires. In addition the bass control is centered at about 100Hz, making the bass sound boomy. In addition the ASL (Automatic Sound Levelizer) boosts the bass and treble at lower volumes and cuts it down at higher volumes.