IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Anyone shifts to Neutral when going downhill in their IS350?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-06, 09:42 AM
2Fast0
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone shifts to Neutral when going downhill in their IS350?

Do you guys do that to save gas? is it bad for the engine if u shift to neutral while u r goin 70mph and going down this long hill? Also, since we r talking about saving gas, anyone drive without their spare tire? that's about 30lb you cut loose, will that get u better milage? I have been driving for 8 years now, and never had to use a spare tire in my life.
Old 04-21-06, 09:50 AM
tqlla3k
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What about shifting to Neutral during Long red lights? My dad does that... and it always bothered me. I thought it was because he didnt want to strain his brakes, but at $3 a gallon, I guess I have figured out why.

I need more gas saving tips. I am only getting 22.4MPG, and it sucks driving like this. I want to punch it more often. My cousin with his IS250 gets to punch it all the time and still manages 25MPG

Gas prices are not killing me, But I still want to save where I can.

When is a K&N filter coming out? I think my filter already needs replacement.

In my MT 3000GT(rated at 19/25), I get 24MPG, without thinking. The GT has a Lightweight flywheel and a blitz intake

In the AT IS350(rated at 21/28), I get 22.4MPG, driving like a grandma. I was hoping to get at least better MPG than my 3000GT

Last edited by tqlla3k; 04-21-06 at 09:59 AM.
Old 04-21-06, 10:06 AM
STIG
Lexus Test Driver

umm why do you want to do that? you probably wont save gas but i am pretty sure it's dangerous when you shift N while you are going downhill.

i get 17.8 MPG in my IS350, but I am quite happy with that cz i got 19 MPG in my RSX while it has only half the power of IS'.
Old 04-21-06, 10:09 AM
kensteele
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by 2Fast0