IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

F-Sport Decisions

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-08, 11:54 AM
vintagebob
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F-Sport Decisions

I’m thinking about adding the Intake, Shocks & Springs and maybe the Sway Bars. For you folks that have added the F-sport equipment are you happy with your choice now? Did the firmer ride, floaty bumps, clunk noise wear you down to the point where you wish you had just left the car stock?

I had Bilsteins on an 83 VW GTI, a Koni spring/shock set on an 86 VW Golf and Tokicos on a 94 Acura Integra so I have some idea of what I’ll be getting into. The Koni kit on the 86 Golf lowered the car too so I have some experience with that as well.
Old 09-23-08, 11:58 AM
pisaykotik
Lexus Champion

Very happy with all the F-Sport parts I have and there is no way I'm not going back to stock just because of the issues you mentioned.
Old 09-23-08, 12:00 PM
chris07is
Pole Position

Received 91 Likes on 65 Posts

f sport intake very happy...but always WOT so gas is
Old 09-23-08, 12:52 PM
kickin8
2IS/2RX/4RX

Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts

time to install the intake...heh....
Old 09-23-08, 01:00 PM
vintagebob
Rookie

Hey thanks, that helps some. After spending hours reading through all of the threads I could find I wasn't sure if folks were really happy with the choice. One person originally thought the suspension/sway setup was perfect, then it was a little harsh and then it seemed like they were wishing for coilovers instead.

I'll be headed to Las Vegas from the Bay Area in a few weeks which means some fast turns on the west side of Pacheco Pass (152) followed by some sweeps on the east side and then the fast sweeps run through the Tehachapies on 58. Of course you still have to deal with long boring sections of I-5 and I-15.

I'm leaning towards the F-Sport upgrades right now.
Old 09-23-08, 02:21 PM
vintagebob
Rookie