IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Friendly Warning: Dealership Damage from 'Simple' Car Wash

Old 01-20-14, 07:08 AM
zmcgovern4
Auto Detailing Master

Received 93 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Friendly Warning: Dealership Damage from 'Simple' Car Wash

For those of you who don't know, I am a professional detailer. I spend quite a bit of time fixing mistakes caused by inexperienced/untrained dealership 'detailers'. I warn a lot of people on the forum to avoid dealership washes at all cost, however a lot of people ignore my words of caution because they don't see how a simple car wash can really damage your paint. This also goes for automatic washes and 'full service' washes as well. IMO there is no substitute for a proper hand wash.

Anyway, I wrote this article to share the story of a fellow 2IS owner and CL member that had to deal with the terrible wash techniques used by most dealerships. This owner is a very proud detailing enthusiast and loves maintaining his swirl free finish. Although he asked the service adviser not wash his vehicle, they did anyways and caused a tremendous amount of damage.

Lexus refused to cover the entire cost of the damages, so the owner was forced to pay hundreds out of pocket to fix the damage that the dealership caused. All of this from ONE improper car wash.

^Paint condition after dealer wash

Please Read the Full article here: The Real Cost of a Cheap Car Wash

As always, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask!

-Zach

**mods: please do not move to detailing sub-forum. I think this needs to be seen here as many members do not visit the detailing section! Thank you!**
Old 01-20-14, 07:17 AM
iRock
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wow. Thanks for sharing. The only reason I get mine washed at the dealer is because I won't be keeping it.
Old 01-20-14, 07:36 AM
Heckler
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts