IS - 1st Gen (2001-2005) Discussion about the IS models up to the 2005 model

New member, tires wearing on lettering, ???stumped

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-17, 09:26 PM
Lexlooter
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member, tires wearing on lettering, ???stumped

Hello fellow 2jz enthusiasts. Im a noob here stumped by a problem I've just came across today and would greatly aprecciate any insight from any of you Lexus gods. As im driving today, i can hear what sounds to be something either scraping or what the sound of something sticky on my drivers side rear tire....kinda like if syrup was on the tire and as it rolled it made noise usually at lower speeds.
Now, as i park to examine for any mishaps i notice that the sidewall of the stock tire looks as if someone took a dremel and scribed all around the lettering of the tires in a perfect circle all around the tire. Where the tire size is located, the michelin mans face is begining to be scraped off as well as the rest of the lettering( obvious tire grooving in constant radius pattern). Mind that it's happening on both sides of the same tire, same funky wear pattern. Im truly stumped and DO NOT want to go to a shop to be upsold parts and labor i dont need. Im pretty mechanical and do most basic maintenace myself.
would any of you Lex gods have a clue as to what migh be wrong? Under/over inflated? I dont see any thing that would scrape in such manner as i examined closely. Any help would be greatly appreciated & thanks in advance.

Last edited by Lexlooter; 02-14-17 at 10:05 PM.
Old 02-15-17, 10:52 AM
jadu
live.love.laugh.lexus

Received 89 Likes on 71 Posts

First off, welcome. A little more details would help us help you. Is the said tire truly stock? If so, what size? Aftermarket rim? Aftermarket suspension? wheel spacers? etc.
Old 02-15-17, 06:37 PM
Lexlooter
Driver School Candidate

Hey Jadu, thanks for the response & thanks.